Something new

Is it a bird? is it a plane …..

Well, it’s definitely a bird! That’s for sure!

It landed on the bird table, and at first glance it looked like a Sparrow, but it looked bigger and fatter, then a Sparrow landed next to it, much smaller! So what is this bigger bird? now on the floor below the bird table.

Through the bins, it’s back was ‘sparrow’ like, browns, it’s underneath was pale, creamy, with dark spots/streaks running almost in lines down it’s chest, it looks quite fluffed up. It’s beak is cream and ‘grain eater’ type, I want to say it’s big, but that might be the wrong thing to say, it’s finch like, and looks big in proportion to it’s head. It’s feet and legs were yellowy orange. It has a much longer tail than the Sparrow.

I can hear something now quite loud, cheeps and then a bit of a whirrrr, a series of high cheeps one after another like a buzz, or alarm. I can hear it through the double glazing!

Since I have been sat here I have also seen Dunnock, Great and Blue Tit, Robins, Jackdaws in the field, and Kestrel in the wire. I can also see 1 male and 2 female Pheasants in the field. There are 3 Magpie also in the field and a couple of Pigeons on the wires.

I think that was it flying off, slightly swooping and legs seen below.

It’s now 3pm, on Friday 14th November 2014, calm, bright & sunny autumnal day (but heavy rain and windy first thing this morning)

(Update – I think it may have been a Corn Bunting)

Leave a comment